Skip to content

iDye Shibori Tutorial

October 28, 2010

 

I’m going to show you how to use the iDye packets in your own kitchen using an ancient shibori technique!

***

The materials you need for this project are a packet of iDye, string, a cylinder to wrap your fabric around, scissors, bowl and some fabric. I’m only dyeing a small swatch so this will be on the smaller scale. If you want to dye yardage you should use a large pot and heat it on the stove; following the directions on the packet of dye. Be sure to never use the pot for food again.

The dyeing process is experimental and a lot of fun! You can mix packets together, tie up your fabric in crazy ways and just see what happens!

The first step is to wrap your fabric around the cylinder. I folded mine long-ways because then it will be symmetrical on both sides.

The next step is to take the string and tightly knot it on one end.

Wrap the string tightly around, and secure it on the opposite end of the cylinder.

Scrunch the fabric together, and now you’re ready to prepare the dye bath!

For my swatch-sized dye project I sliced the dissolvable dye packet open, poured a little in my bowl, and then added some near-boiling water.

Drop your shibori-ed fabric in the bowl, and wait!

I left my fabric in for about ten minutes. It’s heavyweight cotton muslin which absorbs color very nicely. Rinse your material off to get the excess dye off.

Cut the string off, and unfold/unroll your fabric.

Here it is! The great thing about swatches is that you can keep folding and dyeing them in different ways. For this one, I’m going to get rid of that bright-natural color of the muslin and toss is back in the dye bath for a few seconds.

Left it in for less than a minute.

Agitate your material in a bit of warm water and detergent to rinse out the excess dye. Keep rinsing until the water is clear.

Here is my swatch along with some others I’ve done! The top is silk chiffon that was braided with chain, dyed a yellow-orange, and then rebraided and dyed a blue-black. It looks like an oil slick! The one in the center I put in the bottom of a container, poured in a little of a couple different blues, and then shibori-ed the same way as this tutorial and put in color remover. The light blue one I wrapped with rubber bands and put in a blue dye bath. The pink and blue one I binder clipped, dyed navy, and then put in in a bright pink bath.

 

Enjoy and I can’t wait to see what you come up with!

 

Comments are closed.

